Members of the dkmi

Currently, about 30 researchers from different fields work together in the dkmi. The members are either research-active professors from five different faculties at Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences or they work on one of the research projects. The disciplinary backgrounds range, for example, from communication and media science to computer and information science to economics and various fields of engineering or social sciences.


Prof. Dr. Melpomeni Alexa

Educational Area
Online-Marketing insbes. Online-Monitoring, Social Listening, Sentimentanalyse

Portrait: Alexa, Melpomeni, Prof. Dr.
Prof. Dr. Jan Barkmann

Educational Area
Risiko- und Nachhaltigkeitswissenschaften

Portrait: Barkmann, Jan, Prof. Dr.
Sabine Breitsameter

Educational Area
Sound und Medienkultur/Master International Media Cultural Work

Portrait: Breitsameter, Sabine
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Dany-Eberl

Educational Area
Professur für Entwicklungs- und Organisationskommunikation
Short profile

Portrait: Dany-Eberl, Charlotte, Prof. Dr.
Dr. Katrin Döveling

Educational Area
Kommunikationswissenschaft/Medienkommunikation, Digitalisierung, Medienpsychologie, -soziologie, Emotionsforschung

Portrait: Döveling, Katrin, Dr.
Henriette Heidbrink
Portrait: Heidbrink, Henriette
Prof. Dr. Silke Heimes

Educational Area
Auslandsbeauftragte Onlinejournalismus, Onlinekommunikation, MTS

Portrait: Heimes, Silke, Prof. Dr.
Carla Heinzel

Educational Area
Technical Art for Animation and Game

Portrait: Heinzel, Carla

Centre speaker

Thomas Pleil

Communication Max-Planck-Straße 2
64807 Dieburg
Office: F01, 119


Managing Director

Rita Vas-Deuschel

Communication Max-Planck-Straße 2
64807 Dieburg
Office: F01, 202